Books

{Arc Review} All These Monsters by Amy Tintera

Book Summary:
Seventeen-year-old Clara is ready to fight back. Fight back against her abusive father, fight back against the only life she’s ever known, and most of all, fight back against scrabs, the earth-dwelling monsters that are currently ravaging the world. So when an opportunity arises for Clara to join an international monster-fighting squad, she jumps at the chance.
When Clara starts training with her teammates, however, she realizes what fighting monsters really means: sore muscles, exhaustion, and worst of all, death. Scrabs are unpredictable, violent, and terrifying. But as Clara gains confidence in her battle skills, she starts to realize scrabs might not be the biggest evil. The true monsters are the ones you least expect.

My Review:

What happens when the world is run by monsters? You fight back!

Clara all her all her life has lived in isolation at the hand of her father abuse. When the world is has creatures roaming around, she take a chance and run away to help out. She will learn to fight, make friends. Fighting monster could be a better life than being home.

I did liked this book. It was a good start to the series. The storyline is different, you have underdogs kids fighting to save the world. The main character still have lots of growing to do. She has a better support system than she did at home. I like how each of the characters have grown in the book.

I do like Clara in the book. She hardly don’t know how to socialized with people or ask for help when needed it. She been so abuse by her father she never how to act with people or open up. Kinda feel bad for her. She tries hard improving her fighting skills and slowly start making friends. Along the way she discover secrets about the monsters fighting world.

Looking for a good end of the world book, then check out All These Monsters. Book recently came out today.

Happy Reading!!

Books

What I’m Reading Monday

Summary:

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn’t call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she’s about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her.

She’ll challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and she’ll do it better than anyone else.

When Skye nails her audition, she’s immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn’t count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho.

But Skye has her sights on becoming the world’s first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition—without losing herself.

blogger, Book Blog, Book Dragon, Book love, Book Lover, Book Worm, Bookaholic, booknerd, Books, dogs, fiction, nerd, read, reader, Reading Girl, review, Teen, Teen Books, ya, youngadult, youngadultbooks

{Arc Review} Accidentally by Alex Richards

Book Summary:
This timely, emotionally-resonant story about a teen girl dealing with the aftermath of a tragic shooting is a must-read from an exciting new YA talent.
Johanna has had more than enough trauma in her life. She lost her mom in a car accident, and her father went AWOL when Johanna was just a baby. At sixteen, life is steady, boring . . . maybe even stifling, since she’s being raised by her grandparents who never talk about their daughter, her mother Mandy.
Then he comes back: Robert Newsome, Johanna’s father, bringing memories and pictures of Mandy. But that’s not all he shares. A tragic car accident didn’t kill Mandy–it was Johanna, who at two years old, accidentally shot her own mother with an unsecured gun.
Now Johanna has to sort through it all–the return of her absentee father, her grandparents’ lies, her part in her mother’s death. But no one, neither her loyal best friends nor her sweet new boyfriend, can help her forgive them. Most of all, can she ever find a way to forgive herself?
In a searing, ultimately uplifting story, debut author Alex Richards tackles a different side of the important issue that has galvanized teens across our country.

My Review:

What happens that your life seems perfect, but someone from the past takes it away?

Johanna seems to a have a nice life with her grandparents after her mother death. She has awesome friends and slowly develops a crush on the new kid in school. Then her life takes a different direction when she finds a letter from her missing father. Once she tries to make amends with him, her life gets turn upside and family secrets get revealed.

Accidentally book is one of those emotional reads. The storyline is very heart breaking and well written. I felt so bad for the main character and what she going through in the book. This book may be sensitive to some readers. I really enjoyed everything about this read and the emotions this book brings to readers.

This review is a little short, sorry. A lot of Summary sums a lot on what’s happening. The main character Johanna has such awesome support from her friends and the new guy. It hard watching her push people away while she deals with everything alone. Hopefully Johanna find some peace in the end.

Book comes out July 7th, 2020.