Books

{Blog Tour & Giveaway} Payback by Kristen Simmons

Publisher : Tor Teen (February 2, 2021)
Language: : English
Hardcover : 352 pages
ISBN-10 : 1250175879
ISBN-13 : 978-1250175878

Praise for THE DECEIVERS

“Brilliantly plotted, tightly paced, and intensely smart. The Deceivers is the perfect con, full of clever characters, untrustworthy romance, and lie after lie after lie, with just enough truth tossed in to make you question everything. Kristen Simmons is a deceptive genius. I could not devour this book fast enough.” —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval
“Beneath its quick and clever dialogue, The Deceivers examines the moral grey area between good and evil. Lying has never seemed so much fun.” —Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of the Thousandth Floor Trilogy
“Masterful, suspenseful, and brilliantly executed, The Deceivers is the perfect con. Kristen Simmons is an outstanding storyteller, and this is her best yet.” —Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling author of Illuminae and These Broken Stars
“Addictive and delicious, The Deceivers will keep you turning the pages well into the night!” —Katie McGarry, critically acclaimed author of Pushing the Limits
“Brynn is a sharp, analytical thinker with a soft heart – the exact kind of protagonist I love rooting for, especially as villains and heroes creep out from places I don’t expect…Even the prerequisite romance was a pleasant surprise as Brynn and her love interest show complete respect for one another, giving enthusiastic consent the front seat it absolutely deserves and yet feels underrepresented in young adult literature. I devoured this book in one big gulp because I couldn’t wait to see what twists and turns were ahead.” —Kelly Morton, Joseph-Beth Booksellers
“The Deceivers is a perfectly paced, high stakes read that is honestly super fun for the reader. Don’t plan on putting it down in the middle to do other things, you’ll want to keep reading. Simmons has outdone herself with this incredible new story about con artists and a girl trying to find her own path.” —Rachel Strolle, Teen Librarian, Glenside Public Library District

The unpredictable truth will be revealed in Payback, the stunning conclusion to Kristen Simmons’ Edgar-nominated thriller series that started with The Deceivers

Brynn Hilder has conned a lot of people. From the spoiled rich kids of Sikawa City to her mom’s loser ex-boyfriend, from a motorcycle gang to a senator’s son. If there was money to be gained, or a secret to uncover, she figured out how to get it done. And thanks to Vale Hall and its director, Dr. David Odin, she’s found a family of hustlers just like her.

Together, Brynn and her friends have overcome doubt, deceit, and betrayal to unearth the truth–a truth even a group of professional scammers couldn’t have predicted.

And now they must tackle the biggest con artist of them all: the man who brought them all together.

My Review:

Welcome back to the Final book of The Vale Hall series.

It’s time for some Payback at Vale Hall. Brynn has one final con up her sleeve. It’s time to take down the headmaster and stop his madness. In order to do that she must rally her friends and work with unlikely enemies. This last con will be the last and will determine Brynn’s future at Vale Hall.

How will it all end?

I really love how this book ended. Also I’m really sad it’s over with. Really enjoy all the characters and watch them grow up in the books. It was nice how much the change and become friends in this book. You can see how much they care for each other and how well they work together. I did like the cover of the books. It was nice seeing how the main character look like and the outfits they wear. I hope we get some side stories from some of the characters in the book to see how they doing also.

Also I’m happy to be a part of this blog tour and got to finish this awesome series.

Happy Reading!!!

You can purchase Payback (Vale Hall #3) at the following Retailers:

Photo Credit: Sasha Ledney Photography

Critically-acclaimed young adult author Kristen Simmons has worked with survivors of abuse and trauma as a mental health therapist, taught Jazzercise in five states, and is forever in search of the next best cupcake. Currently she lives in Cincinnati, Ohio with her husband, where she spends her days supporting the caffeine industry and chasing her son.

WEEK ONE
FEBRUARY 1st MONDAY JeanBookNerd GUEST POST
FEBRUARY 2nd TUESDAY Kait Plus Books EXCERPT
FEBRUARY 3rd WEDNESDAY Book Briefs REVIEW
FEBRUARY 4th THURSDAY BookHounds YA EXCERPT
FEBRUARY 5th Wishful Endings REVIEW
WEEK TWO
FEBRUARY 8th MONDAY A Dream Within A Dream REVIEW
FEBRUARY 9th TUESDAY A Bella Fairy Tale REVIEW
FEBRUARY 10th WEDNESDAY Reading Adventures of a Book Dragon EXCERPT
FEBRUARY 10th WEDNESDAY Nay’s Pink Bookshelf REVIEW
FEBRUARY 11th THURSDAY J.R.’s Book Reviews REVIEW
FEBRUARY 12th FRIDAY Pages and Pugs REVIEW
*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Books

What I’m Reading Monday

Summary:

A classic sort of love story… except somebody might wind up dead.

Nobody knows Delilah like Logan does. Nobody. He makes sure of it by learning everything he can through her social media and watching her through a hidden camera he has trained on her house. Some might call him a stalker. Logan prefers to be called “romantic.”

But after Logan sees Delilah killing her abusive stepfather, he realizes there’s still more about her to discover. His sweet, perfect Delilah isn’t so perfect after all.

Delilah knows she should feel guilty, but all she feels is free. She’s so over the men in her life controlling her. Except Logan saw what she did, and he won’t let her forget it.

Delilah is done being the victim. And she refuses to be a character in Logan’s twisted fantasy. If Logan won’t let her go… she’ll make him.

Books

Who I was with Her by Nita Tyndall

Summary:
There are two things that Corinne Parker knows to be true: that she is in love with Maggie Bailey, the captain of the rival high school’s cross-country team and her secret girlfriend of a year, and that she isn’t ready for anyone to know she’s bisexual.
But then Maggie dies, and Corinne quickly learns that the only thing worse than losing Maggie is being left heartbroken over a relationship no one knows existed. And to make things even more complicated, the only person she can turn to is Elissa — Maggie’s ex and the single person who understands how Corinne is feeling.
As Corinne struggles to make sense of her grief and what she truly wants out of life, she begins to have feelings for the last person she should fall for. But to move forward after losing Maggie, Corinne will have to learn to be honest with the people in her life…starting with herself.

My Review:

What happens when someone you love passes, but can’t openly grieve for them?

Corinne has been in love with Maggie for a long time in secret. Then suddenly Maggie gets in an accident and passes away. Which leaves Corinne alone and lost on what to do. No one knows her secret with Maggie and must deal with the grief alone.

Who I was with Her was such an emotional book. The storyline deals with lost and finding yourself. The main character, Corinne gets out of control in the book. She does some stupid stuff and push people away. She can’t get a grip with her on reality and who she was with Maggie. It was kinda heartbreaking reading this book. Corinne hold so many secrets and keeping to self.

This book was well written and handle everything with the subject well. It was very detailed and so many feelings was put in this read. I did like the cover to this book and again the storyline. This book is a good for anyone looking for a new read dealing with loss and self discovery.

Books

The Good Girls by Claire Eliza Bartlett

Summary:
The troublemaker. The overachiever. The cheer captain. The dead girl.
Like every high school in America, Jefferson-Lorne High contains all of the above.
After the shocking murder of senior Emma Baines, three of her classmates are at the top of the suspect list: Claude, the notorious partier; Avery, the head cheerleader; and Gwen, the would-be valedictorian.
Everyone has a label, whether they like it or not–and Emma was always known as a good girl. But appearances are never what they seem. And the truth behind what really happened to Emma may just be lying in plain sight. As long-buried secrets come to light, the clock is ticking to find Emma’s killer–before another good girl goes down.

My Review:

What happens when a girl is assumed dead?

There a video going around of Emma jumping off the cliff and looks like someone push her in it. Three girls might have the answers on what happens to poor Emma.

Claude is on top of the list a trouble maker and no one believes her on what she has to say. Then there Avery so quick to help with the case and put the blame on Claude. Then there is Gwen, with Emma out of the way she is a shoe in to be class valedictorian.

The Good Girls was a thrilling read. It was a huge guessing game on whodunit until the very end. Also fill with some many twists you don’t see coming. I like how the book is told in point of views of each girls. It was nice taking a look inside their lives and find out what each of them lying about. I had trouble putting the book because I needed answers right away. This book was a perfect mystery that I can read over and over again.

What I enjoy how much these girls don’t even like each other and put blame on one and other. Yet some of the stories they tell to the police don’t add up. What really happen to Emma?

Find out the truth when you read The Good Girls.

Happy Reading!!!

Books

WWW Wednesday

Thanks to my editor Stay Fetters at Acourtofcoffeeandbooks for this new banner.

The three Ws:

What I’m currently reading?

What I finish reading?

What I plan to read next?

Finish Reading:

This book was a very interesting read and something different. For readers who enjoy strange reads will fall in love. Will be working on review for book.

Currently Reading and Reading Next:

I just picked up these two today and they sound amazing.

The project deals with a cult.

This is not Jess Show is like a 90s mystery novel. Which sounds awesome..

Books

What I’m Reading Monday

Summary:

Rose Szabo’s thrilling debut is a dark and thrilling novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls.

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together — in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce gothic fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.