Books

The In Between by Marc Klein

Summary:

A heartbreaking story of love and loss — perfect for fans of If I Stay and Five Feet Apart. Soon to be a motion picture starring Joey King.

After bouncing around in foster homes for most of her childhood, seventeen-year-old Tessa Jacobs doesn’t believe she deserves love — not from her adoptive parents, and certainly not from anyone at school.

But everything changes when she has a chance encounter at the local movie theater with Skylar, a senior from a neighboring town who’s a true romantic. Their budding relationship quickly leads to the kind of passionate love you only see in the movies. And Tessa starts to believe she might be deserving of a happy ending after all.

When tragedy strikes, Tessa wakes up alone in the hospital with no memory of how she got there. And Skylar has passed away. As Tessa begins her relentless search for answers, Skylar’s spirit reaches out to her from the other side. Desperate to see him one last time, Tessa must unravel the pieces of their relationship — and the truth might even lead her into the afterlife itself.

My Review:

The In Between was such a heartbreaking book. The story moves pretty fast and the two main characters fall in love quickly. It was a short read and will become a movie.

The books starts off right away with Tessa in the hospital and Skylar passed away. They really don’t ease you into the accident. You get to alternate before the crash and after the it.

Tessa always have doubt with her photography and falling in love. Skylar is the one to get her to open up and presume her dreams. Without him she feels so lost and hides from everyone.

I did liked this book, but not love it. Just way to much of a fast pace for me. I’m never a fan of insta love with books. Also thought it lack a bit with emotions. Since the story starts right after the accident, it did not build up any suspense on what happen. It still a nice short book. Will check out the movie to see how they did it. I also did like how haunting the cover was.

If you like fast pace storyline, insta romance, and life in between, You might enjoy The In Between. Not sure on reading this book, then check it out at library.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s